The Clay Spirit

The Clay Spirit (Dir. Brett Ingram, 1995, 24 minutes)

The Clay Spirit, Ingram's MFA student thesis film, is a documentary portrait of three brilliant artists, each of whom developed startlingly original techniques of clay animation: David Daniels (animation for Pee-wee's Playhouse, music videos for Peter Gabriel and The Jackson Five), Joan Gratz (1992 Academy Award for Best Animated Short), and Bruce Bickford (multiple collaborations with Frank Zappa).